Every year for Christmas, someone always ends up giving me a box of Gudrun Belgian Chocolates which come in really pretty boxes with handles and a magnetic closure.  It seemed a shame to throw them out.  Then one day I had an idea to make them into playsets for my nieces.  I also made the accessories in them.  In the Dog House Playset I made a fence out of popsicle sticks, two dog beds out of flannel and foam, a bowl, ball, and bag of dog food out of polymer clay.  I also added a little black Schnauzer from some other doll set.  For the Doll Closet Playset, I made a shawl, beret, scarf, two dresses, a cape, a necklace, and embellished some shoes.  More details about those below.

The first thing I did was diagram the design, complete with exact measurements of each piece of the structures.  The structures were to be made of heavy cardboard.

I then removed the handles from the bags and put them on the box.  The cardboard is pretty thick, so my eyelets wouldn’t have crimped on properly.  Instead, I made holes for them and glued the eyelets in place.

Then I lined the inside of the boxes with scrapbook paper.

Next I used a Dremel to cut out all the structure pieces from heavy cardboard.  I also covered these with scrapbook paper.  The rod for the closet is made from a 1/4″ dowel.  The “shoe rack” is simply an inclined piece of cardboard with holes in it for the heels of the shoes.

I glued all the pieces to the inside of the boxes, using mini hairclips to keep them in place as the glue dried.

For the Doll Closet Playset, I got to use a lot of old craft supplies (as well as old skills) that I haven’t used in a while.  I sewed two dresses from a pattern, made my own pattern for the collared cape.  I beaded the necklace from scratch, crocheted the shawl using my own pattern, and knitted the beret and scarf with toothpicks.  I used rhinestones or tiny pieces of ribbon to embellish the shoes.

This one was the prototype playset.  Like in my Wine Crate Wardrobe Trunk project, I lined the inside of this one with cedar.  This one also has “baskets” to keep small accessories in place on the shelves.